Of Mysticism and Stardust


“A short and thought-provoking read, ‘Of Mysticism and Stardust’, is an intelligible Sufic writing:

‘My atoms aligned themselves to the frequency of a command I have neither seen nor heard. Once, a clot of matter and then somehow a manifestation of God’s decree. I felt the elements- water and air, come through me. I soon befriended them. They would help me become what I knew not of. And so, I was ripe. Another star to be gazed at in the vastness of the blue.”

The Ziauddin University Atlas Blog

Sunset. PHOTO: BY THE AUTHOR

BY: AFREENISH GUL, M.B.B.S., BATCH XX

PHOTO CREDITS: AFREENISH GUL, M.B.B.S., BATCH XX

I do not promise you anything. The gardens that Rumi speaks of, the third space that lovers visit, the unheard displays of amour are not mine to promise. You are as finite as I. This will indeed end- another gravestone in the infinite abyss of the forlorn. But that is where I would like to introduce you to myself. I, who began as a morsel and unknowingly, took form. My atoms aligned themselves to the frequency of a command I have neither seen nor heard. Once, a clot of matter and then somehow a manifestation of God’s decree. I felt the elements- water and air, come through me. I soon befriended them. They would help me become what I knew not of. And so, I was ripe. Another star to be…

View original post 8 more words

2 thoughts on “Of Mysticism and Stardust

Leave a Reply

